Government shutdown

By From page A5 | November 13, 2013


The following California members of Congress voted “No” to ending the government shutdown: John Campbell, Jeff Denham, Duncan Hunter, Doug LaMalfa, Tom McClintlock, Dana Rohrabacker and Ed Royce.

The main purpose for the shutdown was to defund the Affordable Care Act, but the effect was to cost our country billions of dollars, and slow a fragile recovery. It has hurt many of the very people they are supposed to represent.

Some people will believe that the cause was just and that others in Congress caved in too soon, and that the fight for their beliefs should be rewarded by continuing their presence in Washington. Others may believe differently.

What is it with the ACA law that they are afraid of? That it might work? Or is there a money trail somewhere in this scenario? It would be far better to try and implement the law than shut down the government. No doubt the ACA will have troubles in startup and there will be parts of the law that may need to be changed, just like Medicare and Social Security when they were introduced. As our elected representatives, they need to work to improve, amend, or change the law to make it better for all.

There are millions of people that need the provisions offered. Compromise with the ACA, taxes, immigration and job creation can be a win for everyone. In the meantime — save the above list for the next election.

Cameron Park

Letters to the Editor

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.