Wednesday, April 16, 2014
PLACERVILLE, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS
DOCENTS FROM THE Folsom Powerhouse State Historic Park gather for a tour of a late 1800's canal channel that has been exposed this fall due to the low water elevation at Folsom Lake. The canal flowed along both sides of the American River. Remains of it can be seen in this photo as a line along the bank on the other side of the water. The canal had many purposes, one of which was supplying water to the powerhouse that sent electric power to Sacramento. Democrat photo by Krysten Kellum
JENIFER PADGETT, archaeologist with the state Department of Parks and Recreation, center, stands on the remains of a late 1800s canal head gate while touring Folsom Powerhouse docents around the historical area Oct. 28.
HISTORY ENTHUSIASTS and State Park docents explore the riverbed of the South Fork of the American River and a diversion dam that has been exposed by low water levels at Folsom Lake. The dam, located just downstream from the Salmon Falls Bridge, was built in 1868, and diverted water into two channels that flowed along each side of the river.
A DEBRIS AND FISH SCREEN is rusted but still sits in the concrete flume. As of Nov. 14 Folsom Lake's levels was at 27 percent of capacity.
DOCENTS Tom Boyd, left, and Paul Money, stand in a concrete flume section above the fish and debris screen that was part of the Natoma Canal that facilitated mining operations and helped bring electricity to Sacramento. The canal was submerged after Folsom Dam was built but the structural remains are exposed in low water years.
TOUR PARTICIPANTS look over photos of the 1959 diversion dam demolition. From left to right: State Park Aid Staci Louie, State Park Docent Fred Kellie , State Park Archeologist Jenifer Padgett, and State Park Docent Dennis Schmalz. Democrat photos by Krysten Kellum