County students eligible for SAFE scholarships

By From page A3 | February 11, 2013

SAFE Credit Union is offering scholarship opportunities to students throughout multiple counties, with El Dorado County included. As part of SAFE’s scholarship program, 10 college-bound high school seniors will each be awarded $1,000 for their outstanding achievements this spring.

Several factors determine the winners. Recipients will be chosen based on exceptional grade-point averages, financial need, community involvement, letters of recommendation, and a personal statement. SAFE scholarships are awarded annually to students who live or attend school in Sacramento, Placer, Yolo, Yuba, Sutter, Amador, Butte, Contra Costa, Nevada, San Joaquin, Solano, or El Dorado counties, a press release stated.

Application packets must be postmarked no later than March 11. The package is available online at and at SAFE branches. Students can call 916-979-7233 or 800-SEE-SAFE for more information.

Packets should be addressed to SAFE Credit Union, ATTN: Marketing, P.O. Box 1057, North Highlands, CA 95660-1057

SAFE’s scholarship program started in 2001, and the credit union’s support of local education has since grown to include title sponsorship of the Sacramento County Academic Decathlon, two on-campus student-run branches, an internship program, and two annual scholarships for UC Davis School of Medicine graduate students.

Patrick Ibarra

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.