Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Supes appoint each other

From page A7 | January 11, 2013 |

El Dorado County government exercised its bi-annual transfer of authority Tuesday morning. Ron Briggs, District 4 accepted the gavel to become the 2013 Chairman of the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors. Norma Santiago, District 5 will serve as the Vice Chair and District 2′s Ray Nutting was elected Second Vice Chair. Brian Veerkamp, District 3 and Ron Mikulaco, District 1 assumed their places on the dais for their first meeting as newly sworn-in county supervisors.

The annual appointment and reappointment of supervisors to more than three dozen councils, committees and commissions took place immediately following approval of the Consent Calendar. Traditionally, supervisors open the new year’s agenda indicating their interest or lack thereof in serving as representatives to particular entities ranging from the Cemetery Advisory Committee to the El Dorado County Water Agency.

Many first-time appointments were necessary as  Mikulaco and Veerkamp took their seats replacing John Knight and Jack Sweeney. El Dorado County’s Presiding Judge Suzanne Kingsbury administered the oath of office to the newcomers and to District 2′s re-elected Supervisor Ray Nutting during a standing-room-only ceremony Monday morning at the government center. Her honor humorously pointed out  that due to a clerical error in official documents, “all three had been elected to represent District 4.”

Supervisors wear as many as 10 or more different “member” hats and another handful of “alternate member” hats. Briggs, for example, was the board’s 2012 lead member on the American River Authority, the Indian Gaming Community Development Subcommittee, the Intergovernmental Management Group, the Iowa Hill Advisory Committee, the Local Agency Formation Commission, the Sierra Nevada Conservancy Board, the county Transit Authority and Transportation Commission and the county Water Agency.

Memberships formerly held by Knight and Sweeney were divvied up among all five supervisors Tuesday. Nutting is now member or alternate on 17 committees, while Veerkamp picked up 15 new positions. Mikulaco will serve on 12 different boards or committees. Nutting and Norma Santiago will continue to  share duties on at least five Tahoe-related districts or agencies. Briggs, Mikulaco, Nutting and Veerkamp all participate on the county’s Transit Authority and Transportation Commission.

Nutting will continue as the county’s lead on the Regional Council of Rural Counties (RCRC) with Veerkamp taking up the alternate seat. The two hold reverse roles on SACOG, the Sacramento Area Council of Governments.

Veerkamp introduced his new assistant, Kathy Witherow, to the board. She was formerly with ANOVA Nexus Architects. Mikulaco likewise introduced Michelle Elliston as his new assistant.





District 2 candidate statements tell of goals

By Dawn Hodson | From Page: A1

Sand Fire nears containment: 66 structures destroyed

By Cole Mayer | From Page: A1 | Gallery

Schedule for Highway 50 blasting closures

By News Release | From Page: A3

Tails wagging over dog park approval

By Julie Samrick | From Page: A3

Quarter-acre fire in Kelsey

By Rebecca Murphy | From Page: A3



My Turn: Privatization of public services

By Mark Belden | From Page: A4

Policy book

By Mountain Democrat | From Page: A4



Piano replaced

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

Comments sign-in policy

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 1 Comment

Save the Guinea Worm

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 1 Comment

Large bangs

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 2 Comments

Private property gets no respect

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 2 Comments

District 2 supervisorial special election

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 4 Comments

GDPUD management report

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5



Ex-Bruin lends a helping hand

By Steven Shaff | From Page: A8 | Gallery

Sierra Sharks finish middle of the pack

By Democrat Staff | From Page: A8

Roundup: July 29, 2014

By Democrat Staff | From Page: A8

Taz pull through for SSL trophy

By Patty Pope | From Page: A8



Nuns discover a pleasant place

By Lexi Boeger | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Bargains can be found everywhere

By Democrat Staff | From Page: B2 | Gallery

At a glance: Game time

By Mimi Escabar | From Page: B2

Barbecue dinner to benefit Blue Star Moms

By Mount Aukum Winery | From Page: B2

Stagecoach story takes riders on a trip

By Wendy Schultz | From Page: B3

Help needed to make cool ties

By Sew 4 | From Page: B3

Stroke and osteoporosis screenings planned

By Life Line Screening | From Page: B3

Gold Rush Days activities cancelled this year

By Sacramento Convention And Visitors Center | From Page: B4

Master Food Preservers: Tomato time

By Monique Wilber | From Page: B4

Sacramento area museums offer summer fun

By Sacramento Association Of Museums | From Page: B5

Build an author platform at the Library

By El Dorado | From Page: B5



Weather stats 7-29-14

By Michael Raffety | From Page: A2

Building permits 6/2-6/2014

By Michael Raffety | From Page: A2Comments are off for this post

Crime Log: July 17

By Cole Mayer | From Page: A2



Merlyn Wilbur Adams

By Contributor | From Page: A2

Wallace Murrel Thomas

By Contributor | From Page: A2


Real Estate




Women’s Health

Love the skin you’re in

By Noel Stack | From Page: WH4

Dump stress and improve your health, productivity

By Wendy Schultz | From Page: WH7Comments are off for this post

Women’s Health Expo

By Marshall Medical | From Page: WH8

Find the confidence you need to fight back

By Special to the Democrat | From Page: WH12

Our choices directly affect our health

By Special to the Democrat | From Page: WH14

They’re NOT your mother’s hearing devices!

By Marshall Medical | From Page: WH17