Supes appoint each other

By From page A7 | January 11, 2013

El Dorado County government exercised its bi-annual transfer of authority Tuesday morning. Ron Briggs, District 4 accepted the gavel to become the 2013 Chairman of the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors. Norma Santiago, District 5 will serve as the Vice Chair and District 2’s Ray Nutting was elected Second Vice Chair. Brian Veerkamp, District 3 and Ron Mikulaco, District 1 assumed their places on the dais for their first meeting as newly sworn-in county supervisors.

The annual appointment and reappointment of supervisors to more than three dozen councils, committees and commissions took place immediately following approval of the Consent Calendar. Traditionally, supervisors open the new year’s agenda indicating their interest or lack thereof in serving as representatives to particular entities ranging from the Cemetery Advisory Committee to the El Dorado County Water Agency.

Many first-time appointments were necessary as  Mikulaco and Veerkamp took their seats replacing John Knight and Jack Sweeney. El Dorado County’s Presiding Judge Suzanne Kingsbury administered the oath of office to the newcomers and to District 2’s re-elected Supervisor Ray Nutting during a standing-room-only ceremony Monday morning at the government center. Her honor humorously pointed out  that due to a clerical error in official documents, “all three had been elected to represent District 4.”

Supervisors wear as many as 10 or more different “member” hats and another handful of “alternate member” hats. Briggs, for example, was the board’s 2012 lead member on the American River Authority, the Indian Gaming Community Development Subcommittee, the Intergovernmental Management Group, the Iowa Hill Advisory Committee, the Local Agency Formation Commission, the Sierra Nevada Conservancy Board, the county Transit Authority and Transportation Commission and the county Water Agency.

Memberships formerly held by Knight and Sweeney were divvied up among all five supervisors Tuesday. Nutting is now member or alternate on 17 committees, while Veerkamp picked up 15 new positions. Mikulaco will serve on 12 different boards or committees. Nutting and Norma Santiago will continue to  share duties on at least five Tahoe-related districts or agencies. Briggs, Mikulaco, Nutting and Veerkamp all participate on the county’s Transit Authority and Transportation Commission.

Nutting will continue as the county’s lead on the Regional Council of Rural Counties (RCRC) with Veerkamp taking up the alternate seat. The two hold reverse roles on SACOG, the Sacramento Area Council of Governments.

Veerkamp introduced his new assistant, Kathy Witherow, to the board. She was formerly with ANOVA Nexus Architects. Mikulaco likewise introduced Michelle Elliston as his new assistant.

Chris Daley

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.