Wednesday, December 17, 2014
PLACERVILLE, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Moni would not have approved

By
November 1, 2010 |

EDITOR:

My name is Yvonne Griffin. I moved to El Dorado Hills in July 2001 from Marin County and have never regretted my decision to retire in these beautiful foothills.
Moni Gilmore encouraged me to get involved and appointed me to a vacancy as secretary of the El Dorado Hills Senior Advisory Council in 2002. I was elected to the council in 2003 in the capacity of treasurer and remained in that position until 2006 when the Community Services District took over operation of what is now known as the Moni Gilmore Senior Center. In 2007 Moni established a new Senior Support Council and asked me to return to my duties as treasurer. Following Moni’s death in April 2008, I was appointed chair/president of the council and remain in that position to this day.
As you all know, Moni was an impassioned individual who served as a strong advocate for all senior services. I must say she must be rolling over in her grave at the possibility of closing the Senior Nutrition Program, which she had the foresight to bring to this community in the late 1990s. In fact, I think it’s safe to say that were she still alive, this would never be an agenda item before the Board of Supervisors.
I would hope to see the projects she initiated and changes she institued live on forever for our community.
YVONNE A. GRIFFIN
El Dorado Hills Senior Support Council Chair/President

Comments

Subscription Required

Thank you for reading the MtDemocrat.com digital edition. In order to continue reading this story please choose one of the following options.

Current Subscribers
If you are a current subscriber and wish to obtain access to MtDemocrat.com, please select the Subscriber Verification option below. If you already have a login, please select "Login" at the lower right corner of this box.

Subscriber Verification

Special Introductory Offer
For a short time we will be offering a discount to those who call us in order to obtain access to MtDemocrat.com and start your print subscription. Our customer support team will be standing by Monday through Friday, 8am to 5pm to assist you.

Call and Save! (530) 344-5000

If you are not a current subscriber and wish not to take advantage of our special introductory offer, please select the $12 monthly option below to obtain access to MtDemocrat.com and start your online subscription

Help?

Letters to the Editor

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • .

    News

    Grand Jury: King Fire suspect indicted

    By Cole Mayer | From Page: A1 | Gallery

     
    Stormproofing the watershed after King Fire

    By Dawn Hodson | From Page: A1 | Gallery

    Esmeralda Tunnel repairs continue

    By Dawn Hodson | From Page: A1 | Gallery

     
    Law enforcement cracking down on holiday drunk driving

    By Placerville Police | From Page: A3

    Harris’ murder trial pushed back

    By Cole Mayer | From Page: A3 | Gallery

     
    EDUHSD board members sworn in

    By News Release | From Page: A6

    School boundary complaints voiced at board meeting

    By Julie Samrick | From Page: A11

     
    Giant Hanukkah menorah lit in Placerville

    By News Release | From Page: A12 | Gallery

    UMHS briefly locked down

    By Cole Mayer | From Page: A12

     
    Sanford adds attorney

    By Cole Mayer | From Page: A12

    .

    Opinion

    My turn: Holidays, stress and fitness

    By Special to the Democrat | From Page: A4

     
    Restoring salary cuts should lead to more cuts

    By Mountain Democrat | From Page: A4

     
    .

    Letters

    0 ≠ 0

    By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

     
    Altshuler’s delusions

    By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

    Plastic bags

    By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

     
    That arrogant man

    By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

    ‘Life as I know it’

    By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

     
    Wine in the Vines

    By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

    .

    Sports

    Sabrina Tate overcomes physical setbacks

    By Jerry Heinzer | From Page: A8 | Gallery

     
    Optimist All Stars play tomorrow

    By Jerry Heinzer | From Page: A8

    Sports Scene: Dec. 16, 2014

    By Democrat Staff | From Page: A8

     
    Lady D’backs fall to Laguna Creek

    By Mike Bush | From Page: A8

    Roundup: Two Trojan titles; two MVPs

    By Democrat Staff | From Page: A9

     
    .

    Prospecting

    New game plays in Old West

    By Pat Lakey | From Page: B1 | Gallery

     
    At a glance: Hello winter

    By Mimi Escabar | From Page: B2

    Local photographers create postcards

    By Julie Samrick | From Page: B2 | Gallery

     
    Placerville Friends of Tibet present film

    By Tripp Mikich | From Page: B2

    CASA receives important gift from Wells Fargo

    By Court Appointed Special Advocate | From Page: B3

     
    El Dorado County libraries offer many programs

    By El Dorado | From Page: B3

    Golden Sierra grad hopes to release film

    By Rebecca Murphy | From Page: B3 | Gallery

     
    Grow For It! Citrus Basics

    By Debbie Hager | From Page: B5

    Life as I know it: New and moving experiences

    By Robert F. Boggus | From Page: B5

     
    Sierra Repertory presents play

    By Sierra Repertory | From Page: B7

    .

    Essentials

    Weather stats

    By Michael Raffety | From Page: A2

     
    Building permits 12/8-12/2014

    By Michael Raffety | From Page: A2

    Crime Log: Nov. 20-22

    By Cole Mayer | From Page: A2

     
    .

    Obituaries

    .

    Real Estate

    .

    Comics

    Shoe

    By Contributor | From Page: A10

     
    Sudoku

    By Contributor | From Page: A10

    Rubes

    By Contributor | From Page: A10

     
    New York Times Crossword

    By Contributor | From Page: A10

    Long Story Short

    By Contributor | From Page: A10

     
    Flying McCoys

    By Contributor | From Page: A10

    Speed Bump

    By Contributor | From Page: A10

     
    Tundra

    By Contributor | From Page: A10

    Horoscope, Thursday, December 18, 2014

    By Contributor | From Page: A10

     
    Horoscope, Wednesday, December 17, 2014

    By Contributor | From Page: A10

    TV Listings

    By Contributor | From Page: A10