Wednesday, April 16, 2014

‘Awakening’ is the second in a trilogy

Between the covers

Book: Awakening

Author: Karen Sandler

Publisher: Tu Books, April  2013, hardcover, 400 pages

Cost: $18.95

“Awakening” is the second book in Karen Sandler’s Tankborn Trilogy.

The first book in the series, “Tankborn,” which came out last year, introduced readers to Kayla, a genetically engineered non-human (GEN) in a world where there are sharp caste divisions between GENs, lowborns and trueborns. GEN are a slave workforce at the bottom of this dystopian society and Kayla struggles with her first Assignment.

In “Awakening,” Kayla continues her path to freedom, working for Kinship, an underground movement supposedly working to help GEN, and deals with her feelings for the trueborn, Devak.

As she does so, GEN living spaces and food warehouses are being bombed and the GEN are being infected with a deadly disease called Scratch.

With our own world exploring genetic engineering, the questions explored in Sandler’ s trilogy are especially relevant. Is a genetically engineered being human? What are the ethics of science in creating such beings and what purpose does their creation serve? Who determines this?

From her Cameron Park home, Sandler told the Mountain Democrat that, as a writer, she is a combination of “plotter” and “pantser.”

“Before the book is written, I’m a ‘plotter’ — laying out the plot and characters and doing a synopsis of what the book will be about,” said Sandler. “After I start writing, I almost never look at the synopsis. I carry that in my head and let the muse take over, writing by the seat of my pants. Novels evolve — they aren’t written overnight.”

Sandler, with 17 adult romance novels already published, decided she needed a new writing direction and with her background as a former NASA engineer, she became interested in science fiction for young adults.

“I’ve been intrigued with genetic engineering since the mid-80s when the concept was nothing more than science fiction,” said Sandler. “Along the way, my fascination with Indian culture and the caste system became interwoven into the story, as well as the notion of how skin color can so stratify a society.”

 After “Tankborn” came out, Sandler talked to her agent and roughed out books two and three.
“The first  book was from a movie script, ‘Icer,’ that I wrote,” said Sandler. “I changed a lot of things — creating a new planet and the GEN.”

“Awakening” not only develops the world of Loka and the characters that inhabit it even further than book one, but Sandler included a glossary in the book for the terms she uses throughout the trilogy — a nod to the readers who requested it. The book builds a tension that will be resolved in the final novel, “Rebellion,” which will be released in 2014.

In a departure from the science-fiction and romance genres of her previous books, Sandler is also releasing an adult mystery novel, “Clean Burn” in August 2013.

She will be part of a panel at the Westercon, the West Coast Science Fiction and Fantasy Conference, at the Hilton ArdenWest in Sacramento in July.

“Awakening” can be purchased online at Barnes& and and will be available at Face in a Book.

For more information visit the Website at or

Contact Wendy Schultz at 530 344-5069 or Follow @wschultzMtDemo on Twitter.


Discussion | No comments



Greenwood School being restored

By Rebecca Murphy | From Page: A1 | Gallery

Cal Fire increasing staffing, hiring

By Cal Fire | From Page: B1

EID restricts watering days

By Michael Raffety | From Page: A1, 9 Comments

Lover’s Leap fall injures man

By Tahoe Tribune | From Page: A1

EDH Fire Dept. annexing Latrobe

By Noel Stack | From Page: A1, 5 Comments

Motorcycle fatality in Greenwood

By Cole Mayer | From Page: A1

Tea Party meeting April 17

By Tea Party Patriots Of El Dorado Hills | From Page: A3, 16 Comments

Town Hall Meeting on Underage Drinking May 1

By El Dorado Hills Community Vision Coalition | From Page: A6

Floating body not a body

By Cole Mayer | From Page: A7

Old mill a goner

By Dawn Hodson | From Page: A11, 4 Comments | Gallery



My turn: A fair California flat income tax

By Mark Belden | From Page: A4

DA Pierson has been outstanding

By Mountain Democrat | From Page: A4, 8 Comments



A great big thanks

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

Murder? Suicide?

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 3 Comments

‘Drive Clean’

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 2 Comments

Middle class getting poorer?

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 10 Comments

Real estate lies

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 1 Comment



Outside with Charlie: Switch gear

By Charlie Ferris | From Page: A8

Ponderosa volleyball is a family affair

By Jerry Heinzer | From Page: A8 | Gallery

Aussie team makes visit

By Special to the Democrat | From Page: A8

Griz have challenging day

By Mike Bush | From Page: A8 | Gallery

Roundup: April 15, 2014

By Democrat Staff | From Page: A9 | Gallery



Runners stampede for Sugarloaf scholarships

By El Dorado County Office of Education | From Page: B2 | Gallery

At a glance: Take aim on fun

By Mimi Escabar | From Page: B2

Men to walk a mile in her shoes

By Center For Violence-Free Relationships | From Page: B2 | Gallery

Team works to fight disease

By Placerville Kiwanis | From Page: B3

COOL School is accepting applications

By Rescue Union | From Page: B4

Band of Miwoks fund mission

By Shingle Springs Band Of Miwok Indians | From Page: B12



Crime Log: March 25-27

By Cole Mayer | From Page: A2

Weather stats 4-15-14

By Michael Raffety | From Page: A2



Numa Edward “Ed” Roberts

By Contributor | From Page: A2

Ronald Russell Rohrer

By Contributor | From Page: A2


Real Estate




By Contributor | From Page: A10

Flying McCoys

By Contributor | From Page: A10

Speed Bump

By Contributor | From Page: A10

Working It Out

By Contributor | From Page: A10


By Contributor | From Page: A10


By Contributor | From Page: A10

New York Times Crossword

By Contributor | From Page: A10


By Contributor | From Page: A10

Horoscope, Thursday, April 17, 2014

By Contributor | From Page: A10

Horoscope, Wednesday, April 16, 2014

By Contributor | From Page: A10

TV Listings

By Contributor | From Page: A10