Cool time at Cowboys and Cornbread

By From page B2 | July 28, 2014


DAVEY "DOC" WISER and his team offered free stagecoach rides at the Cowboys and Cornbread at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds on July 20. Democrat photo by Shelly Thorene

The celebration of the cowboy culture and western living was a day filled with competitions, entertainment, demonstrations, food, drink and fun at Cowboys and Cornbread. Even the weather cooperated with a nice breeze keeping everyone cool at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds in Placerville.

The regional event brought out a talented field of musicians for the Hangtown Harmonica Championship with Eric Hill taking first place; Ed Deboer, second; and Orvin Lambert, third.

The chili chefs impressing the judges were: Dale Van Dam’s Team — Graduate Degree Chili, first; Courtney and Jason Jackson — Spicy Mango Madness Chili, second; and Jeff Ritchie  — Lost Cause Chili, third.

The salsa masters were Dave Maestas — Last Dance Salsa, first and Al Smith — Senior Al’s Gringo Salsa, second.

Bev Bailey won the cornbread bragging rights with her winning recipe.

The team of Greg Miller and James Nerwinski tossed more ringers to place first in the horseshoe tournament. Rick Eddy and Ron Bailey came in second and Marshall Grimes and Bob Bailey placed third.

Brave mutton busters in the 6- and 7-year-old bracket were: Colton Hein of Placerville, first; Danivan Alvaredo of California, Maryland, second; and Jairo Castelanos of Dixon, third.

Lil busters in the 4- and 5-year-old bracket were: Sydnee Sarver of Sacramento, first; Aryanna Childers of Somerset, second; and Brandon Melo of Half Moon Bay, third.

Stick horse barrel racing competitors in the 2- and 3-year-old bracket were: Myla Spitzer of Placerville, first; Wyatt Gunning of San Gregorio, second; and Annie Bari of Rescue, third.

The 4- and 5-year-old stick horse race winners were: Jaden Larsen of Sacramento, first; Brandon Melo of Half Moon Bay, second; and Emmett Fanning of Placerville and Drew Foltz of Placerville, tied for third.

The 6- and 7-year-old racers were: Colton Hein of Placerville, first; Gage Ogden of Placerville, second; and Jacon Bari of Placerville, third.

The 8- and 9-year-old racers were: Payton Avery of El Dorado Hills, first; Cody Johnson of Shingle Springs, second; and Aiden Gilson of Sacramento, third.

The 10- and 11-year-old racers were: Brandon Johnson of Shingle Springs, first and Terra Robertson, second.

The winners in the hay bucking contest for 2 and 3 year olds were Lilly Adams and Dad of Pollock Pines and Wyatt Gunning and Dad of San Gregorio, second.

The 4- and 5-year-old hay bucking winners were: Emmett Fanning of Placerville and Aryanna Childers of Somerset, first; Bailey Gunning of San Gregorio and Brandon Melo of Half Moon Bay, second; and Matix Spitzer of Placerville and Nina Adams of Pollock Pines, third.

The 6- and  7-year-old bucking winners were: Kaley Gunning of El Dorado Hills and Jacob Bari of Placerville, first; Olivia Novelo of Shingle Springs and Kaley Gunning of El Dorado Hills, second; and Whit Adams of Pollock Pines and Gage Ogden of Placerville, third.

The 8- and 9-year-old bucking winners were: Darian Campos of El Dorado Hills and Payton Avery of El Dorado Hills, first; Karly Phillips of Placerville and Rebekah Pevy of Sacramento, second; and Hannah Robertson of Wyoming and Aiden Gilson of Sacramento, third.

The 10- and 11-year-old bucking winners were: Tera Robertson of Wyoming and Colby Frey of Rocklin, first; Colton Hein of Placerville and Chase Lyman of Placerville, second; and Colby Frey and Peyton Avery, third.

For more information about Cowboys and Cornbread call 800-457-6279 or go to

Democrat Staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.