OAK RIDGE High School's production of "The Diary of Anne Frank" received four Elly nominations including set design and overall production. Democrat file photo by Shelly Thorene


El Dorado and Oak Ridge earn Elly nominations

More than 430 Elly nominees for the 2013-14 season were announced at an informal nomination reception on Sunday, Aug. 3.

Actors, directors, technicians and producers were on hand to listen excitedly for their names to be called. This year’s theme was Masquerade and the room was decorated with hand-made masks to lend an air of mystery and intrigue.

This past season 231 shows were submitted by 78 theaters. Fifty-eight theaters and 124 productions received nominations.

El Dorado High School was among the top community theaters receiving 17 nominations. Oak Ridge High School earned five nominations.

Elly Award nominations include lead and supporting actor and actress, director, costume design, lighting design, set design, overall production plus musical direction and choreography, if applicable.

The nominations were announced for productions in the following categories: comedy, drama, musical, original scripts, adapted scripts and young people’s scripts (new); education — musicals, education — plays, young people’s — musicals and young people’s — plays.

El Dorado’s nominations in the education musical category are: Beverly Steward, “Godspell,” choreography; Paul Tomei, “Godspell,” direction; Ron Dumonshell, “Godspell,” lighting design;  El Dorado High School, “Godspell,” overall production; Diana Erickson, “Godspell,” set design; Marc Bonham, “Godspell,” sound design; Cyndie Morrison, “Hotel Paradiso,” costume design; Cyndie Morrison, “Crimes of the Heart,” costume design; Paul Tomei, “Hotel Paradiso,” direction; Colleen Crooks, “Crimes of the Heart;” leading female; Elizabeth Vaccaro, “Crimes of the Heart,” leading female; Hannah Van Vleet, “Hotel Paradiso,” leading female; Tyler Land, “Hotel Paradiso,” leading male; El Dorado High School, “Crimes of the Heart,” overall production; Dave Shelnut, “Hotel Paradiso,” set deign; Hannah Van Vleet, “Crimes of the Heart,” sound design; and Paul Tomei, “Hotel Paradiso,” sound design.

Oak Ridge High School’s nominations in the education musical category are: Ryan Van Overeem, “The Sound of Music,” supporting male; Keith Walisa, “The Diary of Anne Frank,” leading male; Luke Rolls, “The Diary of Anne Frank,” lighting design; Oak Ridge High School, “The Diary of Anne Frank,” overall production; and Austin Daly, Larry Summerfield and Luke Rolls, “The Diary of Anne Frank,” set design.

Other community theaters receiving the multiple nominations included: Sutter Street Theatre, 38; Roseville Theatre Arts Academy, 30; Rocklin Community Theatre, 22; The Acting Company, 21; Big Idea Theatre, 17; and St. Mary’s High School, 17.

Named for the late Eleanor McClatchy, a devoted patron of the arts and former publisher of the Sacramento Bee, the Elly Awards celebrate excellence and the outstanding achievements of community theaters and artists in the greater Sacramento area.

Created 32 years ago by local community actors, the Elly Awards have grown from a local Sacramento tradition to now include theaters within a 70-mile radius.

In honor of the 32nd annual Elly Awards, SARTA will be hosting two ceremonies this September.

The Youth Elly Award ceremony will be on Sunday, Sept. 7 at 7 p.m. at Roseville Theatre Arts Academy. The Adult Elly Award ceremony will be on Sunday, Sept. 21 at 7 p.m. at the Red Lion Inn — Woodlake Hotel in Sacramento.

For more information and a complete 2014 nomination list visit

Sacramento Area Regional Theatre Alliance

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.