DSC_7424 w

JAKE HORN, center left, and Hunter Cannon bring the Backstreet Boys back to the stage with the 1997 hit "Everybody." Democrat photo by Krysten Kellum


Find fortune and talent at Union Mine

By From page B1 | May 14, 2014

What: “Fortune Cookies”

Who: Union Mine High School dance students

Where: Union Mine High School Theater at the Mine, 6530 Koki Lane, El Dorado

When: Thursday, Friday and Saturday, May 15, 16 and 17 at 7:30 p.m.

Cost: Tickets are $8 for adults, $6 for students and children and $5 for students with an ASB card

Information: 530-626-7164

What’s tan and sweet and crunchy and was invented in San Francisco a century ago?

Clue — It has magic inside.

Clue — You get one after your meal at a Chinese restaurant.

Answer — It’s a fortune cookie.

Real live fortune cookies are waiting to be opened and enjoyed this week at Union Mine High School.

You might discover a tall, dark stranger or find winning lotto numbers. You could get financial advice or a tip to improve that special relationship.

If you’re really lucky, you’ll get a ticket for the Union Mine Dance Program’s spring production — “Fortune Cookies.”

Choreographed by students for students, the Thursday, Friday and Saturday night shows are sure to delight anyone’s fancy, stimulate your appetite for the art of dance or take the audience to a magical world of music, color and movement.

The shows begin at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Friday and Saturday, May 15, 16 and 17. Doors open at 7 p.m. at Theater at the Mine, 6530 Koki Lane in El Dorado.

Ticket prices are $8 for adults, $6 for students and children and $5 for students with an ASB card. Tickets are available at the door.

For further information call 530-626-7164.

The students fulfilling the fortunes are: George Babbage, Gabi Briceno, Lesina Burdick, Corina Cannon, Hunter Cannon, Lexi Cardoza, Cassidy Chilcott, Ellie Corbett, Nicole Coyle, Seth Ferre, Kaitlyn Fly, Tessa Fowler, Megan Gonzales, Ashley Harris, Nichole Haynes, Kylie Hogan, Jake Horn, Mia Hum, Kendra Johnson, Makana Kauhaahaa, Laura Kenyon, Ashley La Fromboise, Savannah LaMers Noble, Hunter Leikauf, Itzel Lopez, Kalina Maricich, Laura Martin, Alyssa Mastropieri, Skyler Mickelson, Savannah Miller, Briana Newbold, Marcus Nieri, Kayla Paterson, Samantha Proud, Lauren Ray, Mikala Ray, Regina Roman, Quinn Smiley, Megan Sturgeon, Taylor Turnboo, Sarah Vasquez, Alisha Waldow, Nicole Wells, Brenna Wentze, Kaitlyn White, Kennedy White, Tyler Wooten and Hannah Young.

Democrat Staff

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.