International musicians to play at Union Mine HS

SF Munich TrioWhat: San Francisco — Munich Trio Concert

Who: El Dorado County Community Concert Association

Where: Theater at the Mine at Union Mine High School, 6530 Koki Lane in El Dorado

When: Tuesday, Jan. 28 at 7 p.m.

Cost: $25

Information: Normadene Carpenter at 530-622-4218

The El Dorado County Community Concert Association is presenting San Francisco — Munich Trio with Rebecca Rust (cello), Friedrich Edelmann (bassoon) and Dmitriy Cogan (piano) at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 28, as its third concert of the season.

The Tuesday appearance at the Theater at the Mine at Union Mine High School, 6530 Koki Lane in El Dorado,  will consist of a varied program featuring composers Georg Friedrich Handel, Felix Mendelsohn, Sergei Prokofiev, Mikhail Glinka, Johann Schiffelholz, Arthur Frackenpohl and Richard Strauss.

Though audiences will definitely warm up to this particular trio combination, few will be familiar with this sonority because virtually no music has been composed for this grouping. So, whatever music exists in this vein is the direct result of these musicians commissioning composers to write new pieces or adapting other works to suit their singularly unique instrumentation.

Some of the composers they have dealt with include Harald Genzmer, Karl Michael Komma, Max Stern, Otmar Mácha, Jan Koetsier and Jan Novák.

All three musicians have extensive musical careers. As a trio, they have performed together on two concert tours of Japan and together or separately the three have nearly covered the globe, with concerts in Europe, North and South America, Africa, Israel, Russia, Japan and China.

Rust, who began cello lessons with the Berkeley “Grand Dame” of cello, Margaret Rowell and continued studies with Bernard Greenhouse and Mstislav Rostropovich, has concertized in Europe, America, Africa, Israel, China and Japan, including performances at the Imperial Palace Tokyo for the Emperor and Empress of Japan.

Edelmann was principal bassoonist with the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra from 1977 until 2004 under the two principal conductors, Sergiu Celibidache and James Levine, as well as under Giulini, Leinsdorf, Maazel, Blomstedt, Masur, Mehta, Böhm and Solti.

His solo playing and teaching has taken him to Europe, Japan, USA, Israel, South America and China. His book “Memoires of Maestro Sergiu Celibidache” was published in Japan in 2009.

Cogan, pianist, was born in Moscow and began music studies at age 6 at the Central Music School in Moscow. In 1974, he immigrated with his family into the United States and settled in San Francisco.

He studied at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and later at Juilliard School of Music in New York with Martin Canin. He has received many international prizes and rewards and is staff accompanist at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music.

Tickets for the performance can be obtained for $25 by calling Normadene Carpenter at 530-622-4218.

For more information about the El Dorado County Community Concert Association and the upcoming season, including new membership availability, visit

The 2013-14 El Dorado County Community Concerts Membership Card includes six outstanding performances for $60. Student memberships are just $20.

El Dorado Community Concert Association

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.