Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Bernal dominates Placerville bullring in sole USAC Sprint appearance

Despite the track regulars having the week off from championship competition, a solid crowd turned out at Placerville Speedway on Saturday night to witness the United States Auto Club Western Classic Series Sprint Cars assault the quarter-mile clay oval at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds.

The traveling series brought 15 entries to the roster, including a handful of Placerville’s winged stars for a night of exciting racing that concluded with Hollister’s Ryan Bernal celebrating his second consecutive series victory.

“I love racing at this place,” said Bernal. “If we come back here again I’m personally going to work on getting us even more cars because this is a fast track.”

Bernal started on the inside of the second row of Saturday’s 30-lap feature event and chased Max Adams as he took the initial lead. Bernal was able to distance himself from the pack but challenged by Placerville’s own James Sweeney who advanced from the sixth position. When the checkered flag flew Bernal was trailed by Sweeney, Adams, DJ Johnson. Placerville’s Jimmy Trulli rounded out the top five over Marc Mackay of Shingle Springs and CJ Humphreys of Placerville.

In the Limited Late Model division, a new name found its way into victory lane on Saturday night, however, it was a familiar face to Placerville. Upon check in, Auburn’s Matt Davis informed scoring officials that there would be a new driver behind the seat of his car for the night, Donald Keybals of Sun Valley.

For Davis, the self-promoting new name apparently was inspirational as the #54 late-model performed better than before and made its way to victory lane, overtaking two-time championship series winner Matt Micheli, former champion Dan Brown Jr. and 2012 Rookie of the Year Tom Tilford to take the lead.

At the finish line the newly named wheelman picked up the win followed by Micheli, Tilford, Brown Jr. and Danny Malfatti. With the win behind him, now the big question is which name really belongs to the longtime driver as the new alias seems to be fitting and victorious thus far.

In the Pure Stock division, Chris Van Roekel of Grass Valley scored his first win of the year. Van Roekel took the lead after early race leader Tim Mack of El Dorado pulled off the track with mechanical issues at the halfway point. Once in front, Van Roekel maintained the top spot fending off challenges of second place driver Lonnie Leonard of Elk Grove.


Discussion | No comments



EDH Fire Dept. annexing Latrobe

By Noel Stack | From Page: A1, 7 Comments

Motorcycle fatality in Greenwood

By Cole Mayer | From Page: A1

Greenwood School being restored

By Rebecca Murphy | From Page: A1 | Gallery

Cal Fire increasing staffing, hiring

By Cal Fire | From Page: B1

EID restricts watering days

By Michael Raffety | From Page: A1, 10 Comments

Lover’s Leap fall injures man

By Tahoe Tribune | From Page: A1

Tea Party meeting April 17

By Tea Party Patriots Of El Dorado Hills | From Page: A3, 45 Comments

Town Hall Meeting on Underage Drinking May 1

By El Dorado Hills Community Vision Coalition | From Page: A6

Floating body not a body

By Cole Mayer | From Page: A7

Old mill a goner

By Dawn Hodson | From Page: A11, 11 Comments | Gallery



A great big thanks

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

Murder? Suicide?

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 6 Comments

‘Drive Clean’

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 3 Comments

Middle class getting poorer?

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 45 Comments

Real estate lies

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 7 Comments



Outside with Charlie: Switch gear

By Charlie Ferris | From Page: A8

Ponderosa volleyball is a family affair

By Jerry Heinzer | From Page: A8 | Gallery

Aussie team makes visit

By Special to the Democrat | From Page: A8

Griz have challenging day

By Mike Bush | From Page: A8 | Gallery

Roundup: April 15, 2014

By Democrat Staff | From Page: A9 | Gallery



At a glance: Take aim on fun

By Mimi Escabar | From Page: B2

Men to walk a mile in her shoes

By Center For Violence-Free Relationships | From Page: B2 | Gallery

Runners stampede for Sugarloaf scholarships

By El Dorado County Office of Education | From Page: B2 | Gallery

Team works to fight disease

By Placerville Kiwanis | From Page: B3

COOL School is accepting applications

By Rescue Union | From Page: B4

Band of Miwoks fund mission

By Shingle Springs Band Of Miwok Indians | From Page: B12



Crime Log: March 25-27

By Cole Mayer | From Page: A2

Weather stats 4-15-14

By Michael Raffety | From Page: A2



Ronald Russell Rohrer

By Contributor | From Page: A2, 2 Comments

Numa Edward “Ed” Roberts

By Contributor | From Page: A2


Real Estate




By Contributor | From Page: A10


By Contributor | From Page: A10

New York Times Crossword

By Contributor | From Page: A10


By Contributor | From Page: A10

Horoscope, Thursday, April 17, 2014

By Contributor | From Page: A10

Horoscope, Wednesday, April 16, 2014

By Contributor | From Page: A10

TV Listings

By Contributor | From Page: A10


By Contributor | From Page: A10

Flying McCoys

By Contributor | From Page: A10

Speed Bump

By Contributor | From Page: A10

Working It Out

By Contributor | From Page: A10