Andy Forsberg Civil War 531

SEVEN-TIME CHAMPION Andy Forsberg vies for his first Placerville Speedway win of the season tomorrow night. Photo by Donna Peter


Big race show on tap tomorrow

By From page A12 | May 31, 2013

Placerville Speedway hosts its most anticipated race of the season Saturday night as the Civil War Sprint Car Series makes its first appearance.

While the winged warriors bring the best talent in California, they’ll be joined for the first time by the Western Midgets of the United States Auto Club (USAC) in a co-sanctioned event with the Bay Cities Racing Association (BCRA.)

With this combination, race fans are in for an open wheel program sure to put them on the edge of their seats.

The Civil War Tour competes in its fifth event of the 2013 racing season. Leading the series point standings is Justin Sanders who has increased his previous single digit point lead to 15  over Mason Moore.

A former series Rookie of the Year, Moore drove to his second top five finish of the season last weekend, winning the 30-lap feature event at Silver Dollar Speedway and advancing to second place in the ranks. Former two-time champion Sean Becker is third overall, 26-points out of the lead.

Sitting fourth in the standings is seven-time series champion Andy Forsberg, still looking for his first hometown win of the season at Placerville as well as his first Civil War victory.

Rounding out the top five is Billy Aton, Herman Klein, Colby Wiesz, Shane Golobic, Billy Butler and  Bradley Terrell.

In addition to the competition, Forsberg and car owners F&F Racing will receive their official championship rings for their 2012 series championship during a break in the program.

The Western Midgets makes its first appearance here since Jimmy Sills won the event back in 1996. Look for top talent on the Placerville clay as a handful of drivers are also expected to do double duty Saturday night.

Topping the point standings is Ronnie Gardner, Jake Swanson, David Prickett, Cody Swanson, Frankie Guerrini, Scott Pierovich, Shannon McQueen, Trey Marcham and Bryan Clauson.

The USAC stars will be joined by the talent of BCRA and run together for an action packed program. Championship points will be awarded for each division respectively. In the BCRA ranks, Kevin Morris leads the standings over Floyd Alvis, David Goodwill, Darin Snider, JR Williams, Gary Conterno, Michael Snider, Scott Pierovich, Bill Lindsey, Dave LaMott and Lonny Alton.

The gates open at 5 p.m. tomorrow. Civil War Series winner Brett Rollag of Rohnert Park is scheduled to be on hand with his No. 27 sprint car in the grandstand area to give arriving fans an early look at his car and provide autographs.

Qualifying begins at 6:30 followed by racing at 7. Adult tickets will be $16.00, seniors $14, juniors $12 and children, $6. Those five and under are free. For further information visit or


Bill Sullivan

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.