END OF STREAK — Defending champion Andy Forsberg (No. x1) edged Greg DeCaires (No. 4) for the win at Placerville Speedway Saturday night. Forsberg's victory snapped DeCaires' recent string of wins at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds track. Photo by Donna Peter


Forsberg breaks Decaires’ win streak

By From page A6 | July 29, 2013

Greg DeCaires was poised to make a record fourth consecutive win Saturday at Placerville Speedway before defending track champion Andy Forsberg put an end to his win streak, scoring a long overdue victory on the track he calls home.

“It’s been awhile since we’ve been here,” said Forsberg, who last won at Placerville on June 22. “Greg’s team has been on one heck of a run here these last few weeks.”

Forsberg started on the outside of the front row of Saturday’s 25-lap feature event. DeCaires earned the pole position with Placerville’s Matt Barber in the third starting position, Andy Gregg in fourth and Jimmy Trulli in the fifth slot. The event took a handful of attempts to get its initial lap scored as numerous accidents delayed the race.

The most serious of caution periods was for Placerville’s James Sweeney who took a violent flip on turn three after contact with Kirt Organ. Another red flag flew for Bobby Butler who rolled over on the front stretch. Shingle Springs driver Justin Johnson also took a tough end-over-end tumble.

Forsberg dodged the mayhem by powering his Pit Stop USA F&F Racing #X1 Sprint Car to the head of the pack to quickly place himself in front of DeCaires. As the two leaders worked their way into lapped traffic, DeCaires began closing in on Forsberg. Forsberg managed to work his way clear of the back markers each time DeCaires got within striking distance to drive to his second season win.

“He got beside me a couple times and showed me the nose wing,” Forsberg said. “Fortunately I was able to run high and low tonight and get through the lapped traffic without any problems.”

DeCaires went on to finish second, Steven Tiner claimed the third position, 10th place starter Sean Becker powered his way to fourth while Gregg rounded out the top five aboard Scott Russell’s #14r for the evening.

In the Limited Late Model division on Saturday, defending champion Matt Micheli of Live Oak drove to his fourth win of the season ahead of Matt Davis, Ken Micheli, Jason Englund and Charlie Marrs.

In the Pure Stock division, point leader Les Friend took a decisive lead but was overcome by Folsom’s Dominic Stone who took the lead in the final turns to score his first win of the season. Friend finished second followed by Grunert. Clarence Holbrook III and Tim Mack of Placerville.

“I was in the right place at the right time here tonight,” Stone said. “Apparently Les thought there was a caution flag when we came down the backstretch and he let up and got caught in the lapped traffic by the time he realized it.”

Championship point racing continues next week for the Winged Sprint Cars at Placerville Speedway. The stock car divisions will have the night off to allow for the mighty midgets of the Bay Cities Racing Association along with the Midget Lites.

This event is the annual Jack London Bash Picnic and Hall of Fame for the BCRA. From 10 a.m. until 3 p.m., racers and fans are welcome to attend the event on the lawn of the El Dorado County Fairgrounds where a BBQ Lunch will be served including Tri-Tip and Hot Dogs prior to the BCRA announcing its 2013 Hall of Fame Inductees. Tickets for the event that benefits BCRA can be purchased at

For complete results of Saturday’s event and information on what’s ahead at Placerville Speedway, including the upcoming Aug. 10 $5,000 to win Forni Classic, check out






Bill Sullivan

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.