Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Forsberg wins again; Forni Classic next


ANDY FORSBERG (No. x1) duels Placerville's CJ Humphreys en route to his third win of the season Saturday night at the Placerville Speedway. Photo by Donna Peter

From page A6 | August 05, 2013 |

Auburn’s Andy Forsberg won his third feature race of the season at Placerville Speedway with his second consecutive win at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds Saturday night during the 11th championship race.

Forsberg’s streak is timely as he’ll look to carry his new-found momentum into the biggest race of the year next weekend, the $5,000-to-win Mark Forni Classic Civil War.

“You could look at this two different ways,” Forsberg said. “Our good luck could continue or we may be using it up these past two weeks. All I know is I have won the Forni Classic two years in a row and this team has won it three years in a row so we will be trying to make it three and four next week.”

Forsberg started Saturday’s feature event in sixth place as the early laps saw Mason Moore power past pole sitter Justin Johnson where he was soon joined by Placerville’s Andy Gregg. As the two dueled for position, they collided in the first turn to draw a yellow flag.

Meanwhile, Forsberg worked his way into the top four. He passed Justin Sanders for the fourth position as the yellow flag flew (for the leaders) and converted his fourth place to second.

Both CJ Humphreys and Forsberg battled for the lead, racing side-by-side for a series of laps until Forsberg slipped below the leader at the halfway mark. Once in front, Forsberg worked his way into lapped traffic with Sanders and Greg DeCaires in his wake. At the finish Forsberg was trailed by Sanders, DeCaires, Humphreys and Mike Benson of Calistoga.

“You know a lot of things take place in a sprint car race between lap one and lap 25,” explained a philosophical Forsberg in victory lane. “I had worked so hard to get past that 18 car (Sanders) and got passed him just as the two leaders decided to run over one another so it put us in a good position for the restart.”

In the Bay Cities Racing Association Midgets, Scott Pierovich took home a hard-earned victory after an exciting race, rallying his way back to the front in the closing laps to win a battle with race leader Pete Davis.

In the early laps, Pierovich and Davis were involved in a serious dog fight. On lap 27, Pierovich made a Hale Mary pass as he exited the fourth turn outside of Davis. At the finish line it was Pierovich followed by Davis, Shannon McQueen, Gregg Bragg and Matt Streeter.

“He (Davis) was really driving me dirty out there no matter how clean I kept things on my end,” Pierovich said. “So I eventually had to let him know I didn’t like it.”

In the BCRA Midget Lite division, the close racing action was just as extreme. While Richard Hoover maintained the lead of the 20 lap event from start to finish, the race was far from a cake walk.

Hoover was challenged by previous Placerville winner Brad Dillard and Marcus Smith. Dillard and Hoover raced side-by-side several times throughout the race but at the finish line it was Hoover followed by Dillard, Brian Corso, Dakota Albright and Scott Kinney.

“I knew they were right there behind me and had to just give it everything I had and hold my line,” said Hoover, who celebrated the win with his Grandfather Rick Hoover, who fields cars for both of his grandsons in the division.

Next Saturday’s Mark Forni Classic features the sprint cars of the Civil War Series in the highest paying event of the season. California’s best drivers are expected as well as competitors from the Pacific Northwest and parts of Nevada. Gates will open at 5 p.m. Visit for further information.









District 2 candidate statements tell of goals

By Dawn Hodson | From Page: A1

Sand Fire nears containment: 66 structures destroyed

By Cole Mayer | From Page: A1 | Gallery

Quarter-acre fire in Kelsey

By Rebecca Murphy | From Page: A3

Schedule for Highway 50 blasting closures

By News Release | From Page: A3

Tails wagging over dog park approval

By Julie Samrick | From Page: A3



My Turn: Privatization of public services

By Mark Belden | From Page: A4

Policy book

By Mountain Democrat | From Page: A4



District 2 supervisorial special election

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 4 Comments

GDPUD management report

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

Piano replaced

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5

Comments sign-in policy

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 1 Comment

Save the Guinea Worm

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 1 Comment

Large bangs

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 2 Comments

Private property gets no respect

By Letters to the Editor | From Page: A5, 2 Comments



Ex-Bruin lends a helping hand

By Steven Shaff | From Page: A8 | Gallery

Sierra Sharks finish middle of the pack

By Democrat Staff | From Page: A8

Roundup: July 29, 2014

By Democrat Staff | From Page: A8

Taz pull through for SSL trophy

By Patty Pope | From Page: A8



Nuns discover a pleasant place

By Lexi Boeger | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Bargains can be found everywhere

By Democrat Staff | From Page: B2 | Gallery

At a glance: Game time

By Mimi Escabar | From Page: B2

Barbecue dinner to benefit Blue Star Moms

By Mount Aukum Winery | From Page: B2

Stagecoach story takes riders on a trip

By Wendy Schultz | From Page: B3

Help needed to make cool ties

By Sew 4 | From Page: B3

Stroke and osteoporosis screenings planned

By Life Line Screening | From Page: B3

Master Food Preservers: Tomato time

By Monique Wilber | From Page: B4

Gold Rush Days activities cancelled this year

By Sacramento Convention And Visitors Center | From Page: B4

Build an author platform at the Library

By El Dorado | From Page: B5

Sacramento area museums offer summer fun

By Sacramento Association Of Museums | From Page: B5



Weather stats 7-29-14

By Michael Raffety | From Page: A2

Building permits 6/2-6/2014

By Michael Raffety | From Page: A2Comments are off for this post

Crime Log: July 17

By Cole Mayer | From Page: A2



Wallace Murrel Thomas

By Contributor | From Page: A2

Merlyn Wilbur Adams

By Contributor | From Page: A2


Real Estate




Women’s Health

Love the skin you’re in

By Noel Stack | From Page: WH4

Dump stress and improve your health, productivity

By Wendy Schultz | From Page: WH7Comments are off for this post

Women’s Health Expo

By Marshall Medical | From Page: WH8

Find the confidence you need to fight back

By Special to the Democrat | From Page: WH12

Our choices directly affect our health

By Special to the Democrat | From Page: WH14

They’re NOT your mother’s hearing devices!

By Marshall Medical | From Page: WH17