LES FRIEND is looking to lock a championship at the Placerville Speedway on Saturday. Photo by Donna Peter


Four divisions on tap for penultimate championship point race

By From page A11 | August 23, 2013

The championship racing season is winding down to its final two events of the year beginning Saturday at Placerville Speedway.

Four divisions of racing will grace the quarter-mile clay oval at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds. Winged Sprint Cars, Limited Late Models, Pure Stocks will all be contending for the championship. The three track regulars will be joined by the Midget Lites of the Bay Cities Racing Association.

Andy Forsberg will look to officially lock down the 2013 Red Hawk Casino track championship title in the winged sprint car division. Already a four-time track champion, Forsberg now holds a 54-point advantage for the top spot over Placerville’s Jimmy Trulli in second place. If all goes well, Forsberg could very well go into the final night without the stress of championship points.

Trulli will have his share of pressure in the second position in the standings however. Sitting just four points behind him is fellow Placerville driver Andy Gregg. As of late, Gregg has teamed with car owner Scott Russell and the two have had a series of top runs, including a $5,000 victory in the Mark Forni Classic recently.

Trailing Gregg by 20 points is Greg DeCaires, driving for the teamed owned locally by Placerville’s Dale Miller. Despite an absence during the year, DeCaires remains a threat to a podium finish at the end of the championship season. Mike Benson rounds out the top five, 30-points behind DeCaires.

In the Limited Late Model division, the 2013 track title is far from being determined and will likely come down to the final night of the year. Tom Tilford remains at the point lead. Tilford holds a three-point advantage over defending track champion Matt Micheli. Ken Micheli is 20 points back in third place. Ted Ahart of Placerville is fourth ahead of Duane Zeider.

In the Pure Stock division, the 2013 track championship is nearly clinched and will likely be completed by Les Friend, who holds a 51 point lead.

Scott Grunert is second in the standings with an 18-point advantage over Lonnie Leonard. Chris VanRoekel is fourth in the ranks followed by Tim Mack of Placerville.

In the visiting Midget Lites, Scott Kinney will return in attempt to maintain his current series point lead in the traveling campaign. Bradley Dillard is second followed by Brian Corso, Stuart Goehring and Dakota Albright.

The grandstands will open at 5 p.m. Qualifying starting at 6:30.

Tickets for adults are $14, juniors and seniors $12 and children $6.

Follow the Placerville Speedway on Facebook and Twitter.

Bill Sullivan

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.