Shane Golobic July 7

SHANE GOLOBIC, No. 22, drove to victory at Placerville Speedway Friday night in the July Fourth Spectactular. Photo by Donna Peter


Golobic takes July Fourth victory

By From page A6 | July 07, 2014

Gardner wins Pure Stock feature event; Trimble repeats in Limited Late Models

Sprint Car driver Shane Golobic never gave up the fight Friday night and his perseverance paid off when the checkered flag waved at Placerville Speedway following the 10th championship points race of the season.

Golobic’s win came before a sold-out, electrifying crowd for the annual July Fourth Spectacular. The open wheel ace shared in celebration with repeat winner Ray Trimble in the Limited Late Models and Eddie Gardner who visited victory lane for the first time in Pure Stocks.

Golobic started on the pole of the 25-lap feature event Friday night with Jake Morgan on the outside of the front row. When the green flag waved, Golobic powered into the lead with Morgan in his wake along with defending champion Andy Forsberg and Adam Walters.

With four laps on the scoreboard, sixth place starter/points leader Greg DeCaires found his way into the second position to set his sights on Golobic as the two dueled for position.

With 22 laps complete, DeCaires managed his way around Golobic to steal the lead, only to have a red flag for rollover victim Max Adams.

With the lead back in his possession, Golobic held off DeCaires charges for the final three laps to score the win. DeCaires finished second followed by Morgan, Forsberg and Cory Eliason, who was the ADCO Driveline Fast Qualifier of the evening.

In the Pure Stock division, 23 cars formed the field and the event saw its share of caution flags early in the running. Nathan Tilford took the lead off the pole position, leading until the sixth lap when he suffered a spin in the second turn after holding off Gardner and his cousin, Matt Tilford, who had closed in.

At the restart, Gardner took the lead while Tilford applied the pressure lap-after-lap along with Placerville’s Ted Ahart. With eight laps complete, Tilford drove to the low side of turns three and four below Gardner to steal the lead. Once in front, Tilford continued to be challenged by Gardner as they worked their way through lapped traffic, trading the lead a number of times in a great battle that Tilford took control of in the closing laps.

At the finish line, Tilford was the first driver to cross but it was discovered that in the closing laps his No. 92 lost a muffler — an automatic disqualification. Gardner was awarded with the win followed by Scott Grunert, Ahart, Rick Grunert and Lonnie Leonard.

In the Limited Late Model feature, Trimble started on the outside of the front row of the 20-lap feature event and took the lead at the waving of the green flag from pole sitter Tom Tilford of Citrus Heights. Trimble maintained the top spot for the entire race while Tilford searched for a line on the heat-stricken track to gain an advantage.

At the finish line Trimble was followed by Tilford. Dan Brown Jr. finished third after overcoming a long battle with point leader Matt Micheli and Matt Davis finished in the fifth position.

Racing returns to Placerville Speedway next Saturday night with the 11th championship event of the season featuring Sprint Cars, Limited Late Models, Pure Stocks and Dwarf Cars in a special night of racing that will benefit the Boys and Girls Club of El Dorado County.

For complete results of Friday’s event and further information, visit the official track website at

Bill Sullivan

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.