CamCup 2014 - Craig Lee, Camellia Cup Champion

CRAIG LEE, right, holds his trophy after his Camellia Cup victory. Courtesy photo


El Dorado Hills sailor takes Camellia Cup

By From page A6 | May 05, 2014

FOLSOM — Sailor Craig Lee of El Dorado Hills, Calif. had been competing in the Camellia Cup, the Sacramento area’s longest running sailboat regatta, since the age of 14.  On Sunday (Apr. 27), Lee finally accomplished his lifelong ambition of, at age 60, becoming Camellia Cup champion.

Sailing his single-handed Banshee, In n Out, for the Scuttlebutt Sailing Club, Lee was undefeated in five races, ranking best overall among 50 sailors who competed in the 48th Annual Camellia Cup regatta held by the Folsom Lake Yacht Club (FLYC). Lee also won top honors in the Banshee fleet and Open Centerboard Perpetual Trophy.

Winning the Open Keel Boat Perpetual trophy was Doug Brennan of Chico on Colonel Mustard II, a Catalina 22 representing the Lake Oroville Yacht Club. Brennan also won the six-boat Catalina 22 fleet. The top multihull sailor was Andy Burkhart of FLYC on a Hobie 16.

First in the eight-boat Day Sailer fleet was Mike Gillum of Loomis on BUBBA, representing the Lake Washington Sailing Club (LWSC). Top Open Centerboard red fleet sailor was Rancho Cordova’s Mel Morrison of FLYC on a Lido 14.  The winner of the Open Centerboard blue fleet was Mike Harper on his homebuilt San Francisco Bay Pelikan, Greta. Mark Werder of the FLYC sailed his boat, Reaction, to win the four-boat Santana 20 fleet.  Sweeping the four-boat Thistle fleet was LWSC sailor David Rumbaugh of El Dorado Hills on Drunkn Thorney.

Three months ago, Sacramento area sailors were unsure the regatta would occur, due to low water levels.  Since then, precipitation raised the lake level to 421 feet, assuring that, despite record drought in Northern California, the Camellia Cup would occur as scheduled. Light to moderate breezes of 5 to 10 mph, and scattered clouds provided for shifting conditions.

Race results follow, including: skipper, hometown, yacht club, boat type, boat name, and cumulative finish point totals for five races:


  1. Craig Lee, El Dorado Hills, SSC, In ‘n Out, 4 points
  2. Steven Cassingham, SSC, Santa Cruz, 10 points
  3. Charles Witcher, Sacramento, FLYC, Ghost, 14 points
  4. Steve Galeria, Gold River, FLYC, 2 Slick, 17 points
  5. Murray McLeod, Vallejo, SSC, Rusalka, 18 points
  6. Kerry Johnson, El Dorado Hills, FLYC, Spitfire, 18 points
  7. Wayne Cassingham, Santa Cruz, SSC, Cruzin, 24 points
  8. Tim Loomis, Fairfield, 28 points
  9. Bob Carl, LWSC, Bonita, 29 points
  10. Beth Richard, FLYC, Y2K Bug, 34 points
  11. Jack Gray, Citrus Heights, SSC, 40 points
  12. Rob Cram, Rocklin, FLYC, Equilibrium, 42 points

Catalina 22

  1. Doug Brennan, Chico, Lake Oroville YC, Col. Mustard II, 4 points
  2. Dave Strain, El Dorado Hills, FLYC, Blue Diamond, 7 points
  3. Mike Rayfuse, Granite Bay, FLYC, Sirius, 11 points
  4. Carl Werder, Sacramento, Tonkin Gulf YC, Blue Hawk, 18 points
  5. Dave Hewitt, El Dorado Hills, Twisted Drifter, 20 points
  6. Pat Seidel, Granite Bay, Potapskut SA, Shark Bait, 24 points

Day Sailer

  1. Mike Gillum, Loomis, LWSC, BUBBA, 4 points
  2. Dean Iwahashi, Fresno, Fresno YC, Long Gone, 9 points
  3. Dave Keran, Fresno, Fresno YC, True Blue, 10 points
  4. Charles Wilson, Morgan Hill, SCYC, Blue Bayou, 16 points
  5. Steve Lowry, Santa Rosa, RYC, Flight Risk, 19 points
  6. Greg Miller, Livermore, Fremont SC, O,tay, 23 points
  7. Charles Gray, Los Altos, Sequoia YC, Half Moon, 28 points
  8. Richard Reader, Menlo Park, Gray Sailer, 29 points

Open Centerboard Blue

  1. Mike Harper, Cool, Pelikan, Greta, 4 points
  2. Bruce King, Fair Oaks, SSC, Montgomery 15, 8 points
  3. Mark Sabin, Sacramento, LWSC, Sun Cat, Half Fool, 12 points
  4. David Greenhill, Pacheco, SF Pelikan Flt 1, Geezer 2, 24 points
  5. Paul Lorenzi, Winters, SF Pelikan Flt 1, 24 points

Open Centerboard Red

  1. Mel Morrison, Rancho Cordova, FLYC, 7 points
  2. Stephen Aguilar, Carmichael, FLYC, My Little Wife, 9 points
  3. John Poimiroo, El Dorado Hills, FLYC, Glory, 10 points
  4. Steve Willett, Sacramento, LWSC, 12 points
  5. Kelly Pike, Half Moon Bay, Half Moon Bay YC, Mavxerick, 15 points
  6. Bruce Ryhal, Granite Bay, FLYC, International 14, I14, 24 points

Open Multihull Fleet

  1. Andy Burkhart, El Dorado Hills, Hobie 16, Hobie Cat, 5 points

Red Keel Fleet

  1. George Koch, Carmichael, FLYC, J22, Poco A Poco, 4 points
  2. Todd Craig, Orangevale, FLYC, Impulse 21, Z, 7 points
  3. Steve Young, Auburn, FLYC, Hunter 23.5, Pura Vida, 13 points
  4. Drake Johnson, Roseville, FLYC, Catalina 250W, Andiamo, 14 points

Santana 20

  1. Mark Werder, Folsom, FLYC, Reaction, 5 points
  2. Jim Goldberg, El Dorado Hills, Twisted Drifter, 7 points
  3. Will Deutsch, El Dorado Hills, FLYC, Four Sirens, 11 points
  4. Charlie Wilson, Sacramento, FLYC, Wild Thing, 15 points


  1. Dave Rumbaugh, Sacramento, LWSC, Thistle, Drunkn Thorny, 4 points
  2. Mike Arrow, Brentwood, LWSC, Airily, 9 points
  3. Dan Clark, Sacramento, LWSC, Osprey, 10 points
  4. Alex Dailey, San Francisco, 20 points

The Folsom Lake Yacht Club was established in 1957 and is located at Brown’s Ravine on Folsom Lake (Green Valley Road).  It conducts sailboat racing, cruises and social events.  More about the club is found at


John Poimiroo

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.