Placerville Speedway hosts four divisions Saturday

By From page A11 | May 5, 2011

The 2011 Fast and Furious Dirt Track racing season continues at Handy Racing Promotions’ Placerville Speedway Saturday with an exciting four-division program.

Winged 360 Sprint Cars return along with the Late Model stock cars, Pure Stocks and the Bay Cities Racing Association’s Midget Lites.

The 2011 season is presented by Red Hawk Casino along with Hoosier Racing Tires West. Associate sponsors include The Mountain Democrat, Riebe’s Auto Parts, Coors Light and Pepsi Cola, and Arnold’s for Awards. Saturday night, Wilton Garage is added to the track supporters’ list as the official sponsor of the Limited Late Model division.

This is the third point of  the weekly Red Hawk Casino Championship season. Although it is early, the battles for titles are already heating up in all three of the regular divisions.

In the winged Sprint Car division, defending champion Andy Forsberg moved to the top of the point standings in the Winged Sprint Car division after his first top-five finish two weeks ago.

Forsberg is the wheelman in one of the local sport’s most competitive cars, the F&F Racing No. X1, formerly driven by champion David Robinson Jr., Colby Wiesz and Mason Moore.

Fair Oak’s Chad Compton sits in second, with local favorites Scott Russell and Jimmy Trulli, both of Placerville, tied for third. Chico’s Brett Miller rounds out the top five, just eight points behind the leader. Mike Henry is sixth, followed by Sean Becker and Shane Gobolic tied for seventh, and Billy Butler and Kyle Hirst.

With Wilton Garage’s sponsorship, the Limited Late Model division is sure to produce excitement. Two weeks ago, Dan Brown Jr. of Grass Valley took his first win and a one-point lead over Thomas Arbogast.

Arbogast sits just two points ahead of Auburn’s Matt Davis while opening-night winner Les Friend of Galt is fourth. Doug Grandbois of Jackson rounds out the top five.

Drivers in the Pure Stock division are gunning for two-time winner Clarence Holbrook III, who leads Nevada City’s Burney McClure by a point. Scott Grunert of Woodland is third, El Dorado’s Dennis Armstong and Rick Grunert of Woodland are tied for fourth, followed by Placerville’s Ted Ahart and defending champion Chris Curtiss.

The Placerville Speedway gates open at 5 p.m. Saturday with qualifying starting at 6:30 and heat races at 7. Adult tickets are $13, juniors and seniors are $11 and children are $6. Kids 5 and under are free. All seating is first come-first serve.

For more information log onto

Press Release

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.