russell 712

PLACERVILLE'S Scott Russell and his team had to put the pieces back together to return to Placerville Speedway Saturday after this July Fourth crash. Photo by Ron Tilford


Points racing resumes tomorrow night

By From page A9 | July 12, 2013

After a long hiatus to allow for special events, the heart beat of Placerville Speedway returns to action this Saturday night as the Red Hawk Casino, Hoosier Racing Tires, Coors Light Fast and Furious Championship Series roars back into action at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds. Four divisions will pack the house to resume their quests for the season crowns.

The Hoosier Racing Tires Winged 360 Sprint Cars will return with the likes of the Limited Late Models and the Pure Stocks. The three track regulars will be joined by the always exciting Nor Cal Dwarf Cars as they continue their traveling championship tour at one of their favorite tracks.

The race for the 2013 season crown is heating up in all three of Placerville’s Divisions.

In the winged sprint cars, defending four-time track champion Andy “Mr. Excitement” Forsberg continues to lead the ranks with arch rival Andy “The Hurricane” Gregg of Placerville in second place. The two battling Andys sit 19-points apart entering Saturday’s return to point racing.

Lurking in the third position is Placerville’s own Jimmy Trulli who is well in the hunt for the title as well. The local fan favorite is just 32 points out of the lead and only 13 points from second place. Mike Benson of Calistoga is fourth in the standings. Mason Moore of Princeton rounds out the top five, 95 points out of the lead.

In the Limited Late Model Division, defending track champion Matt Micheli is once again back in the point lead. Micheli has been in a season long battle with 2012 Rookie of the Year and Former Pure Stock Champion Tom Tilford. Tilford returns this weekend, trailing Micheli by a single digit. Ken Micheli is third in the standings and will look to close the 29-point gap between he and Tilford. Ted Ahart of Placerville is fourth, 56-points from the lead. John Ohnmacht is fifth, 57-points from the top.

In the Pure Stock division, five-time feature event winner Les Friend of Galt continues to lead the standing in his quest for his first track championship. Scott Grunert of Woodland is in second place, 29-points out of the lead. Chris Van Roekel of Grass Valley is third in the standings, 36 points out of the lead. Tim Mack of El Dorado is fourth followed by Dennis Armstrong of El Dorado.

Prior to Saturday’s race, look for several of the Nor Cal Dwarf Car Drivers to have their colorful high-speed machines on display in the main entry of Placerville Speedway. This is a great division for the kids and fans of all ages to meet, get an autograph and sit in the cars.

The grandstands will open at 5 p.m. Saturday night with ADCO Driveline Qualifying starting at 6:30. Tickets will be available at that time: Adult tickets will be $14, juniors and seniors will be $12, children, $6.

For further information on this event visit

Join nearly 4,000 friends of Placerville Speedway on Facebook, where you can interact with other fans, drivers and staff and follow them on twitter to keep up to date on events to come. You can also find Placerville Speedway on twitter for schedule updates and more.

Bill Sullivan

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.