Late models

CHAMPIONSHIP CONTENDERS — Defending champion Matt Micheli of Live Oak, No. 84, will look to close in on point-leader Tom Tilford of Citrus Heights, No. 92. for the 2013 Placerville Speedway track championship this Saturday night. Photo by Donna Peter.


Speedway season concludes Saturday

By From page A11 | August 30, 2013

The 2013 racing season at the Placerville Speedway has been one of the strongest in recent years marked by huge crowds, solid car counts and great racing action. Saturday, the final points race of the year, should be no different.

As the track once known as “Old Hangtown” puts another title bout in its history book, there will be plenty of great action on and off the track in this series finale.

To begin with a peek of the night ahead, the evening is slated as Steve Stymeist Auto Body Big Trophy Night, awarding feature event winners with the famed giant perpetual trophies at the conclusion of the races which will also officially crown the 2013 division champions when the final checkered flag falls on the season.

In addition to the traditional festivities for this final championship bout, the bounty has been raised considerably in the Limited Late Model Division for a final season shootout.  Thanks to a number of area sponsors and donors, the winner will have a take home of $1,000. For the last few months, Placerville driver Chris McGinnis has been putting together this special event to bring a high dollar Late Model race to the bullring.

While the win in Saturday’s race is guaranteed to pay $1,000, a driver has the opportunity to make their payday even richer. Former driver Donnie Tilford has issued a special $500 bonus to any driver in the division who wins their heat race and then chooses to start in the final row of the A-feature. Winning both equates to a total of $1,500 for their efforts.

In addition, there will be three track champions crowned at the conclusion of the races. While two of those titles will be determined before the final green flag even waves, one division bout is hotter than ever with two different drivers gunning for the crown.

Tom Tilford is at the top of the Late Model division point standings, battling all season long with defending champion Matt Micheli for the lead position. After last week’s fourth place finish, Tilford enters the finale with a 10-point advantage over Micheli.

With the added car count and high dollar bounty in this division, Tilford and Micheli have their work cut out for them as the title won’t be determined until the final checkered flag of the night. Rounding out the top five in the division point standings is Ken Micheli followed by Placerville’s Ted Ahart and Duane Zeider.

In the winged sprint cars, a full roster is expected. Defending four-time track champion Andy Forsberg has all but locked up his fifth championship title at the track he calls home. Placerville’s Jimmy Trulli will look to hold off Andy Gregg of Placerville to secure the second place position in the standings. Mike Benson is fourth followed by Greg DeCaires.

In the Pure Stock division, Les Friend simply has to take the green flag to officially make the 2013 title his. Friend is trailed in the standings by Scott Grunert who won his first feature of the year last weekend. Chris Van Roekel is third followed by Tim Mack of Placerville and Dennis Armstrong of El Dorado.

The grandstands open Saturday at 5 p.m. and qualifying starts at 6:30. Tickets are $14 for adults, juniors and seniors $12 and children $6.

On Saturday, Sept. 21, the eighth annual Thompson’s’ Auto Center Tribute to Al Hinds Civil War race and race fan car show and barbecue takes place.

Bill Sullivan

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.